JAPAN UPDATE


September 12, 2014

TOKYO, JAPAN

Fujimoto keeps Japanese heavyweight belt;
Ex-champ Igarashi defeats Tesorio in comeback bout


By Joe Koizumi
Photos by Boxing Beat

September 12, 2014

TOKYO, JAPAN

Japanese heavyweight champ, WBC#21 Kyotaro Fujimoto (10-1, 6 KOs), 232.5, retained his national belt when he bloodied compatriot Kotatsu Takehara (10-10-3, 4 KOs; AKA Masataka Takehara), 224, so profusely that the referee declared a TKO win for the champ since he saw the loser unfit to go on further at 0:44 of the fifth round on Wednesday in Tokyo, Japan. Kyotaro, formerly a MMA battler, rocked his grudge rival with a solid right and opened a nasty laceration over the left eyebrow midway in round two. The third witnessed the faster champ connect with quick combinations to the face, pinning him to the ropes, where the third man took a standing count against the fading veteran. But Takehara gamely fought back hard and landed some strong rights to have the crowd on its feet in the fourth. The ref, however, had the ringside physician examine the challengerfs deep gashes twice before he finally called a halt in favor of the champ. Kyotaro, a Japanese Canelo with red-dyed hair, looked sharp and strong this night, showing a much better performance than in his last against ex-WBA 154-pound interim titlist Nobuhiro Ishida this April.

Former WBC flyweight champ Toshiyuki Igarashi (19-2-1, 11 KOs), 115, had Filipino youngster Renren Tesorio (13-5-3, 4 KOs), 114, at bay in the eighth, and was awarded a unanimous technical decision (88-86, 87-85, 86-85) at 1:03 of the ninth round on Saturday (September 6) in Tokyo, Japan. Igarashi was a clear winner although Tesorio fought better than expected. The southpaw Japanese, who appeared after a one-year layoff since his impressive ninth-round knockout of Omar Soto last September, fought prudently and cautiously, but steadily piled up points with his fast combinations to the face. It was in the fourth that Tesorio clearly took a point as he threw many but less powerful combos to the more experienced ex-champ. The referee made a well-received halt due to Igarashifs bad cut caused by an accidental headbutt, but it looked obvious that Igarashi was leading on points.

(9-12-2014)


Back to Oriental Boxing

Go to Top